BigBang To Release First Song In Almost Four Years

T.O.P has parted ways with YG Entertainment as well

V.I.Ps, how are you feeling at the moment? We have mixed feelings upon learning that K-pop boy band BigBang will release a new song this spring and that one of its members, T.O.P, has left YG Entertainment.

BigBang currently comprises four members: G-Dragon, Taeyang, T.O.P and Daesung.

A press release issued by YG Entertainment said that the band has “finished the recording of the song and are about to film the music video.” With regard to T.O.P’s reasons for leaving the agency, the agency said that the rapper “wanted to expand his personal activities aside from his promotions with BIGBANG.” More specifically, it explained that T.O.P will be “taking on a wide variety of new challenges as both an artist and an entrepreneur.”

BigBang’s last music release was in March 2018, called ‘Flower Road.’

The group made its debut in 2006 and was originally composed of five members: G-Dragon, T.O.P, Taeyang, Daesung and Seungri. However, Seungri announced his retirement from the industry in 2019 and has since terminated his contract with YG Entertainment. He is currently serving a jail term after confessing his guilt on nine criminal charges in relation to a sex and fraud scandal surrounding Burning Sun, a nightclub in Seoul.

(Cover photos from:

Meanwhile, fellow YG member Jisoo from BLACKPINK also made headlines for starring in ‘Snowdrop’, a drama that has had its own share of controversies.

Comments, questions or feedback? Email us at [email protected].

Related Articles